The long hiatus and the road back to Sydney

It has been a while since I have posted anything. It is less that I haven’t got anything to say and more finding the time to say it and the appropriate words to frame it within.

I have commenced work at McWilliam’s Wines Group as their Demand Planner. It’s been a genuinely enjoyable experience thus far. I am quite grateful for the opportunity I have been afforded by them and discovered their workplace to be a sustainable environment to work in. I work my piece, I do as best a job as I can – which, currently, is meeting expectations and achieving positive change – and I return home at a good hour. It isn’t the same as Tonga, but… well, nothing is.

In any case, I have some photos and an essay to post up over the next few days, and I hope to begin taking more photos soon.

Do I have thoughts on Sydney? Indeed, I do. The lifestyle many lead here is unsustainable. In particular, working any further away than ten minutes from home reduces the ability for one to form connections with your community that allow significant growth. It also compromises the ability to maintain the right level of rest. Why? Simply because you have no time to ‘be’ in your geographical home.

The disintegration of the ‘village’, and the corresponding attempt by people to forge relationships and move towards a lifestyle that encompasses a geography that is far too wide for one person are noticeable to me; people spend an unequal proportion of time traveling to people in Sydney when compared to the time the have spent being with the person. I’m not here to suggest this is right or wrong; for it simply ‘is’, but it does grant me the opportunity to consider what this means and how the gospel fits in with such a picture.

I’m mindful of how secular the society is, and the contradictory craving for spirituality (people are unsure what they want from it, but certain to have something that resembles it) combined with its ‘head-in-the-sand’ approach to dealing with the problem. This is in conjunction with many people being either unwilling to think or talk about the big questions, or accepting superficial answers. Consequently, people ignore the gnawing sensation that ensues by saturating themselves in activity or substances that dull the feeling, thus avoiding the issue.

Nevertheless, it is worth dwelling on and considering. The preciousness of time and time spent is ever more impressed upon me than it was before.

As Qoheleth says: ‘There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every¬†event under heaven…’

About Drew

Trying to walk in line with the truth of the Gospel
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

